Ka Ni Kanichihk is pleased to welcome our newest Council Members for 2021-22! Listed in order of appearance from left to right.

Herbert Zobell is RBC’s Vice President, Commercial Financial Services, Indigenous Banking, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nunavut and Western Ontario. A member of the Ahtahkakoop Cree First Nation, Herb has over 26 years of commercial banking and First Nation government experience.

Joana Bersamina is the Human Resources Manager with the Downtown Community Safety Partnership.  Joana has a passion for improving the lives of Winnipeg’s vulnerable population and has served many roles in the people management,  technology spectrum, hospitality, automotive and consultancy industries.  

Danielle Carriere is an Administrative Coordinator with the City of Winnipeg, Indigenous Relations Branch.  Danielle is a Metis woman who was born and raised in Winnipeg. She has worked in government and Indigenous relations for the past seven years.

Bethany Ettawacappo is the Chief Financial Officer with the First Nations of Northern Manitoba CFS Authority.  Bethany is a Cree woman from Norway House First Nation. She has worked in the non-profit sector for the past 22 years and is a believer in the power of community and Indigenous communities coming together to support one another.

Our new members bring a wealth of experience and perspective to our existing Council!

The Council’s new Executive Committee is:

  • Sydney Levasseur Puhach – CoChair
  • Ken Sanderson – CoChair
  • Carter Wilson – Treasurer
  • Herb Zobell – Secretary

At our AGM on September 27, Ka Ni Kanichihk bid farewell to departing Council Members Sharon Parenteau (Co-Chair) and Helen Robinson Settee. Thank you, Sharon and Helen, for sharing your wisdom and dedication to our community. Both served full terms of 9 years on the Council and remain connected to the Ka Ni Kanichihk family as ex-officio members. And as we all know, we don’t share goodbyes, but see-you-laters!